Yes, I’m staying here…

It’s been an emotional, heart-wrenching three weeks here in Israel. The Kidnapping and Murder of 3 Israeli Teenagers. A Retaliating Murder of a Palestinian Teenager. An uproar within the Palestinian Community, leading to Hamas sending Rockets. Iron Dome Intercepts. And more Rockets. Iron Dome Intercepts. And more Rockets. Iron Dome Intercepts…. Until Israel finally has had enough and begins defends herself. Insert escalation from both sides and here we are: Full Fledged War! I can’t even count how many people have asked me if I’m planning to go home anytime soon, if and when it becomes too dangerous here.

Home.

And I understand that to most people, their idea of my home is the US. Yes, I am American, born and raised in the US. My family is still there. My childhood friends are still there. But what most people don’t understand is that I am home. My life is here. My husband is here. My job is here. My life is here. I AM home.

Home is Israel.

It comes as no surprise to anyone who knows me and sees my daily Facebook posts. I support Bibi and his decision to go into Gaza. Finally. I believe it’s been a long time coming, and we need to take out Hamas once and for all. Enough is Enough! Since I’ve lived here, Hamas has been sending rockets into Gaza, particularly to the south. We have endured what NO country in the world would have ever put up with, and yet we also endure all the criticism and condemnation of the world.

Hatred. Riots. Anti-Israel Protests.

Welcome to our lives. And yet here we still are, fighting for our right for freedom. Fighting for our right to exist. Fighting for our right for Peace. And while I am by no means fighting the battle on the front lines, I will fight as I know how… with words, with support, with reporting the truth. For I truly believe that evil must be confronted, and in our case, evil comes in the form of terrorism from Hamas. So, I want to thank everyone who has sent me messages of love and support… who has shared my FB posts… who have sent up prayers for us in this critical time of need.  Though my home is now here in Israel, my heart will always remain with all of you.

I will end this post with the famous words of Golda Meir, one of Israel’s founders and Prime Ministers,

“Peace will come when the Arabs will love their children more than they hate us.”

Amen. stand   idf idf2

9 comments on “Yes, I’m staying here…

  1. I stand with you and Yaron, and will continue to pray for your safety and the peace of Israel. Yes, you are no longer two people but one, standing and supporting your country, as I would in mine. “The Lord bless you and keep you; the Lord make His face shine upon you, and be gracious to you; the Lord lift up His countenance upon you, and give you peace.”

  2. Your are brave and I understand why you are staying. I’m sorry you and your husband have to live in this war. Americans didn’t understand how it felt to be attacked until 9-11.I can’t imagine what it would be like to have rockets attack my city daily. I hope both sides find peace.

  3. Pingback: The Problem with the “ME” Mentality | A Room With A View

  4. One thing I remember while we where in Israel, the underlying sense that though at the moment things were peaceful it could all change in a instant. What was truly interesting was I still had peace in my heart, I felt no fear. God’s heart really is for Israel.

Leave a comment