Gallery

My Ruth Connection

ruthThere once was a girl named Ruth. Just an ordinary girl like you and me who lived in the land of Moab. She grew up, fell in love, married a great guy, only to one day fatally lose him.

She loved him dearly, enough to make the difficult choice to leave her people, her land, and all she knew to return back home to the land of his people with his mother.

Her words to her mother-in-law became the ever famous phrase:

Your people will be my people, your God will be my God.

Fast forward many years to a girl named Maureen…

Just an ordinary girl from the States. She grew up, traveled around the world, made the difficult choice to leave her people, her land, and all she knew, to one day fall in love with Ruth’s new people and Ruth’s new land… and to say the same words spoken thousands and thousands of years ago:

Your people will be my people, your God will be my God.

And though her story may never be written down and told to millions of people for generations and generations, it will be told to those who love her most… which is really what both stories are about, in the end.

Ruth 1:16

רות א:16

4 comments on “My Ruth Connection

  1. Well this one has me choked up! I may pull out my prejudice mom badge here but I do not call that girl from the states “ordinary”. and neither do many others when I share your story!! Do you remember when I sent the verse from Ruth that I apply to you. A good reminder for me to pray that more over you. Ruth 2:11,12…”you left your father and mother an your homeland and came to live with a people you did not know before. May the Lord repay you for what you have done. May you be richly rewarded by the Lord, the God of Israel, under whose wings you have come to take refuge.”
    Love you very much, Mom

Leave a Reply

