Becoming a Mother: What They Don’t Tell You

Welcome to Motherhood!

After traveling around the world in my 20’s and 30’s, I am now a first-time mom in my 40’s. I was a teacher for many years and have seen all my friends get married and have children of their own, so I’m no stranger to being around kids. When I finally got pregnant, I knew what was coming – but I honestly wasn’t prepared for the reality of it all. And 7 weeks in with my precious, newborn daughter, I’ve discovered one thing:

Motherhood is hard!
You hear how this newborn stage will pass, and you’ll forget about the difficulty, but you don’t hear about the little details of how your life completely changes. Here’s a brief glimpse:

  • Taking a shower used to be a daily no-brainer, but now it’s become a luxury of life.
  • My daughter has a nose for coffee: She always seems to make her demands the minute I’m about to drink mine.
  • I can’t even remember the last time I actually brushed my hair. Wearing it up is a staple.
  • And add to that, PJ’s…. Most days I’m too exhausted to just get dressed in actual going-out-of-the-house clothes.
  • Sleep: Where to even begin? I love sleep… or should I say I loved sleep!ย I’ve had to say goodbye to my REM cycle days.
  • I think I’ve cried more in the past month than I did all last year combined.
  • Colic: I’ve grown to hate this word! If you have/had a colicky baby you completely understand. Which leads me back to myย previous point of crying.
  • Breastfeeding: I always thought breastfeeding was easy. The baby is hungry – you feed her – end of story. Well, this may have been my moms experience, but not mine! It has been such a struggle of low milk, torn-up nipples, supplements, complete exhaustion and emotional depletion. And it starts over again every 2 1/2 hours.
  • Poop/Farts/Burps. Need I say more?
  • And forget actually doing anything else besides feeding/changing diapers/sterilizing/washing clothes/and attempting to sleep. It’s an uphill battle that I’m currently losing. (I’m writing this post in record time, because I don’t even have time to write this at all.)

And yet in the midst of all these unexpected, life-changing “experiences”, you get those little moments that temporarily removes all the first-month scars: A genuine smile, cuddling together when she’s asleep, holding tightly onto your finger when she’s feeding, seeing your husband kissing her and telling her how much he loves her….

So for all you mothers-to-be or mothers in the same boat as me, know this:

Yes, Motherhood is hard, but I wouldn’t change my little princess for the world!ย 

IMG_2233.jpg

 

8 comments on “Becoming a Mother: What They Don’t Tell You

  1. When my son stayed at home with his daughter while his wife went back to work after four months leave, he asked me (on the phone), “how in the world do you make dinner and take care of a baby at the same time?” I tried not to laugh. You’ll muddle through. We all do.

  2. Both Nick and Ali had colic. Sometimes you just cry right along with them. It was a hard time for me being a mom. Glad you’re seeing the sweetness already though. (PS Just a heads up; No one told me how hard the adult children phrase is. I thought I had made it through and was gonna slide home. NOT. Just so you don’t get there one day and no one gave you a heads up! LOL!) Love you girl. Lifting up prayers your way today.

  3. Pingback: Traveling Alone with a Newborn: 10 Tips to Get You Through Your Adventure | Passport in Hand

  4. Pingback: Becoming a Mother: 6 Months Later | A Room With A View

Leave a Reply

