Becoming a Mother: 6 Months Later

 

Welcome to the 2nd half of the first year!

Wow! It’s been 6 months already, and I can hardly believe it! My LO (little one, in mommy world) is 6 months old, and oh how life has changed since I wrote Becoming a Mother: What They Don’t Tell You

I thought it would be interesting to write a follow-up post, reflecting on the items I wrote in the first piece, and updating them to how life has changed 6 months in.

I began with the statement: Motherhood is hard! And yes, it is. I don’t think that will ever change. But it definitely got easier. So, if you’re a new mom hang in there. Everyone was right… it does get better. And with that, here’s my updated glimpse, 6 months in:

  • Taking a daily shower is back on the table.
  • My daughter still has a nose for coffee. She loves watching our Nespresso maker in action, and if it were up to her, she’d drink one right along with me.
  • I still wear my hair up pretty much everyday, but for different reasons. Mia is now grabbing and pulling everything in sight, and my hair is her favorite target.
  • Most days I’m getting dressed in actual going-out-of-the-house clothes, and now that it’s summer, a bathing suit for the pool. Mia LOVES the pool!
  • Sleep: I think this is the one issue that transformed me back into an actual human being. Instead of getting little-to-no sleep each night, I actually get a full night sleep (plus the naps I slip in there with her). Mia sleeps anywhere from 8-10 hours a night, and I couldn’t be more grateful!
  • Tears. Yes, I still have them, but they’ve become more of the happy nature. Sometimes the love I have for her takes my breath away.
  • Colic. What colic? YES, Mia has outgrown the colic and the AR. What a difference a couple months makes.
  • Eating: Mia is now eating solid foods. Bananas, pears, sweet potatoes, carrots, avocados…. And she loves all of them. I think we have an eater on our hands (and her leg rolls prove it).
  • Poop/Farts/Burps. Somethings just don’t change.
  • And on top of all these amazing changes, I actually have time to do things. She is on a schedule now, which allows me to do things I couldn’t do before while she’s napping, like writing. I have decided to stay home with my little pickle and be a freelance writer. Big change. Best decision for me to spend as much time as possible with her.

And not to mention all the firsts that we’ve already gone goo-goo over: Rolling over, laughing, smiling, holding/grabbing onto items, teething, blabbing like crazy and almost sitting up by herself….

So for all you mothers-to-be or mothers in the same boat as me, know this:

Yes, the first couple months were REALLY hard, but it does get better! Can’t wait for what’s to come…. 

 

Leave a Reply

